Close

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

Deck building advice for new players

Hi guys! This is RS Seadog!

I have been playing Shadow Era for almost 10 years and would like to share some of my deck building ideas to new players.

If you look at the Strategy section, you may have probably seen some of my decks. I test a LOT of decks. Some work, some doesn’t. The idea is to keep trying, explore and be creative! I think that’s the fun part of the game that keeps me around for so long.

Being a new player, you would probably want to start with some existing decks. There are a lot of good decklists on the forum, particularly those from WC players. Most of them are very good lists that’s where you want to start from.

Another very good way is reverse-engineering. Check out the game of the top players in Quick Match and try to re-work their decks. They might switch cards from game to game but watching 10-20 games will get you the basic idea of their decks, and you can start to draft a list for the cards you want to buy.

After that, it’s tweaking. Keeping the core cards of the deck and start to add/drop cards to suit the meta. E.g. tech in item destruction if meta is full of weapon based hero or add removal cards if meta is ally-heavy.

If you play more games, you will start to understand the matchups of different hero too. Try to bring hero that has advantage against meta decks.

I have also noted down some basic deck building skills below. I will keep updating the list when I can think of something:

1. Consistency vs Versatility

This is the basic of every single deck, and the single most important rule of all.

Quick match: Consistency > Versatility
    Tournament: Versatility > Consistency

Consistency means the how often you can play the games you planned in every game.

Versatility means how many solutions you have against every single deck.