Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

Thoughts on 45+ card decks

So. I am a newbie here. I have had some light interactions with ygo, mtg and hs and have come to the conclusion that 40 card decks (current min size) are the best due to consistency and simplicity. I have however come across many ~60 card decks with Elemental heroes or Gravebone.

They had a lot of innate card destruction or discards in general and really put me on the clock. I managed to get some tight wins or a couple of swarms but there were times I was feeling almost helpless against them.

I can tell that my current deck is bad and that it lacks a strict win condition or combo ending up stalling which is very, very bad in such cases but I wanted to get other people's opinion on them.

Are 60 card decks good or bad and why? I can tell they can generate another win condition by mass drawing and discarding cards, but is it worth the inconsistency? Have there been 60 card decks that won tourneys and if so which ones? Also since I am running into decks with more cards than mine, should I increase my deck size as well to compensate?
    Last edited by TheFast; 04-08-2018 at 07:29 AM.

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    It really depends on your hero and also your build. Many heroes I use the min deck size because I need key cards as early as possible. I personally use the max deck size with my Monster Garth build though, and I enjoy that deck the most. You must have draw no matter deck size though.
    Avenger of Valhalla
    Warriors of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    I am testing things out for now. I have a very old but surprisingly effective Serena deck and a trolly, unfocused Nishaven one. I am planning on making a Human homunculus deck and further explore portal decks possibilities. I do include 6+ draw but I do imagine that as the deck gets bigger drawing and especially seeking becomes more important.