Close

Cerddorion

Building a control deck

How yall are? If this is in the wrong category, my apologies. I just wanted to share my thoughts on building a control. I am in the player development program of my guild, Warriors of the Blue Phoenix, and I was given a task. Below is the report of my results, and the deck I built. I am by no means an expert on the subject, so don't beat me up too much. ^_^ With who knows how many new players breezing through here, I thought it would be nice to share my experience as a (somewhat) new player, since I've less than a year of play experience. So, enjoy and any and all comments are welcome, since it all helps to raise the overall level of play.

Control Deck Report

A control deck is one that plans on winning through a more methodical way of playing. The main goal is to control the field of play and what impact your opponent has on it until such time as you can flip the switch and go on the offensive. A control deck tends to include lots of cards that counter expected threats. This is one of the most common styles because it is so consistent. There should be a good mix cheap removal effects and high cost finishers. The win conditions that these decks run are extremely powerful and pretty much end the game in a hurry once they are in play. Control decks tend to only run into trouble when playing against something that they simply are not properly equipped for, or when sufficiently rushed by a rush deck.