Close

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member shiciki's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    14
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Radiant Wisp dies with Spirit of Devotion

    ex010.jpgll121.jpg
    Radiant Wisp Radiant Wisp has +1 attack and +1 health for each attachment it has. When Radiant Wisp dies, all its attachments that you control are placed in your hand.
    Spirit of Devotion Attach to target friendly ally. That ally has +1 health. When that ally is killed, draw 1 card (or 2 cards if it is a Twilight or Templar ally).


    what would happened if Radiant Wisp dies with Spirit of Devotion? draw a card or not?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Buqs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Georgia, USA (GMT-5)
    Posts
    2,313
    Tournaments Joined
    3
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I believe sod would return to hand prior to SRO checking down to allow the draw

    SRO
    Ally dies
    Check ally
    Check allies attachments

    Check ally step returns attachment to hand before check allies attachments step can happen

    So no draw
    EveryThing Changes

    "The difference between the possible and the impossible lies within a persons determination" -- Tommy Lasorda

    Check out my decks and others at Shadowera.net. Shadowera's #1 Super Fan Site!



  3. #3
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,063
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Buqs View Post
    I believe sod would return to hand prior to SRO checking down to allow the draw

    SRO
    Ally dies
    Check ally
    Check allies attachments

    Check ally step returns attachment to hand before check allies attachments step can happen

    So no draw
    Correct, but I'll elaborate.

    When two things would otherwise need to happen at the same time, we use a standard resolution order for that.

    In the case of an ally and attachments on that ally, we process the ally first and then the attachments in the order they were attached.

    So Radiant Wisp's ability will send the attachment back to your hand before Spirit of Devotion's ability can trigger (and now it won't trigger because it's not in play any more).

    I'll pre-empt the next question and clarify that Treasured Heirloom also won't draw cards if it gets bounced to your hand from being on a killed Radiant Wisp because it wasn't destroyed.

  4. #4
    Junior Member shiciki's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    14
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gondorian View Post
    Correct, but I'll elaborate.

    When two things would otherwise need to happen at the same time, we use a standard resolution order for that.

    In the case of an ally and attachments on that ally, we process the ally first and then the attachments in the order they were attached.

    So Radiant Wisp's ability will send the attachment back to your hand before Spirit of Devotion's ability can trigger (and now it won't trigger because it's not in play any more).

    I'll pre-empt the next question and clarify that Treasured Heirloom also won't draw cards if it gets bounced to your hand from being on a killed Radiant Wisp because it wasn't destroyed.
    so when Avatar of Twilight is killed ,the Spirit of Devotion will draw no card ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Alzorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Youtube (GMT-√(i))
    Posts
    1,410
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Avatar of Twilight is killed and exiled, it should still trigger spirit of devotion. (Spirit of Devotion is still "in play" and able to trigger off of its host being killed, even if the host is exiled as a result of being killed) - compared to the bounce from the Wisp, where the Spirit of Devotion is bounced and no longer in play when it would check for the "killed" aspect.

    Simply put:

    Radiant Wisp + Spirit of Devotion
    Radiant Wisp Killed
    Radiant Wisp Killed effect: Return Spirit of Devotion to owner's hand.
    Spirit of Devotion Leaves Play due to return to hand effect.
    Spirit of Devotion cannot trigger from hand.

    Avatar of Twilight + Spirit of Devotion
    Avatar of Twilight Killed
    Avatar of Twilight Killed effect: Exile Avatar of Twilight
    Spirit of Devotion remains in-play
    Spirit of Devotion's Host Ally (Avatar of Twilight) is killed, triggering Spirit of Devotion's effect.
    Spirit of Devotion no longer has a host, and is destroyed (goes to graveyard)

    Going by what Gondorian said - Ally effect always triggers first, then attachment effect (kind of curious where Item/non-ally attachment fall in the order of operations - would be hard/impossible to test with the current card pool for some of them, but could be part of future effects)

  6. #6
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,063
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by shiciki View Post
    so when Avatar of Twilight is killed ,the Spirit of Devotion will draw no card ?
    Actually, you will get cards then!

    It's only because the death of the Wisp has explicitly removed the attachments early that it can't trigger when it would have. On any other ally being killed, the attachments on it will stay until the point when the ally would have moved to the graveyard (which will be after everything in play has had the chance to respond to that ally being killed).

    At least it's only Wisp that complicates matters!

  7. #7
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,063
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Alzorath View Post
    Going by what Gondorian said - Ally effect always triggers first, then attachment effect (kind of curious where Item/non-ally attachment fall in the order of operations - would be hard/impossible to test with the current card pool for some of them, but could be part of future effects)
    Sorry, I was only giving a relevant part of the SRO. To be more general: Attachments on any type of card are always processed directly after the card they are attached to.

  8. #8
    Junior Member shiciki's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    14
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    ok,i got it
    thx for every one ~

  9. #9
    Senior Member Alzorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Youtube (GMT-√(i))
    Posts
    1,410
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gondorian View Post
    Sorry, I was only giving a relevant part of the SRO. To be more general: Attachments on any type of card are always processed directly after the card they are attached to.

    Is this proper SRO?:

    Twilight Dies
    Spirit of Devotion Triggers
    Twilight Eidolon (w/ Incendiary Curse) Triggers
    Twilight Returns to play
    Incendiary Triggers

    -or-

    Twilight dies
    Spirit of Devotion Triggers
    Twilight Eidolon (w/ Incendiary Curse) Triggers
    Incendiary Triggers
    Twilight Returns to play

    etc. etc. (there's actually a lot of combos, that while they don't impact the current card pool, could be a consideration for future card designs)

    Could further complicate it with Hero attachments, side of board order (player 1 vs player 2), Further interacting attachments/items/abilities/etc. (such as if a Twilight destroyed a random item at death, and Eidolon was the only item - would the Twilight come back, or would the on-death ability trigger before the item)

    We already know hero attachments have priority over items (see: Anmor's Call vs Twilight Eidolon ) - so I'm guessing the order is: Ally -> Ally Attach -> Hero -> Hero Attach -> Item -> Item Attach, looping back at each transition point as necessary, repeating the cycle until resolution?

    Would there be branches at active player vs inactive player?

  10. #10
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,063
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Alzorath View Post
    Is this proper SRO?:

    Twilight Dies
    Spirit of Devotion Triggers
    Twilight Eidolon (w/ Incendiary Curse) Triggers
    Twilight Returns to play
    Incendiary Triggers

    -or-

    Twilight dies
    Spirit of Devotion Triggers
    Twilight Eidolon (w/ Incendiary Curse) Triggers
    Incendiary Triggers
    Twilight Returns to play

    etc. etc. (there's actually a lot of combos, that while they don't impact the current card pool, could be a consideration for future card designs)

    Could further complicate it with Hero attachments, side of board order (player 1 vs player 2), Further interacting attachments/items/abilities/etc. (such as if a Twilight destroyed a random item at death, and Eidolon was the only item - would the Twilight come back, or would the on-death ability trigger before the item)

    We already know hero attachments have priority over items (see: Anmor's Call vs Twilight Eidolon ) - so I'm guessing the order is: Ally -> Ally Attach -> Hero -> Hero Attach -> Item -> Item Attach, looping back at each transition point as necessary, repeating the cycle until resolution?

    Would there be branches at active player vs inactive player?
    Why guess? It's in the rulebook!

    http://www.shadowera.com/content.php?142-Game-Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by The Rulebook
    When more than one card or effect is set to resolve simultaneously, Shadow Era uses a simple process to determine which cards or effects get priority at what times. Cards and effects trigger one at a time, recursively, based on who controls them and their type. Below you can see the top-level order of resolution:

    1. Active Hero
    2. Allies friendly to that hero
    3. Items/Support Abilities belonging to that hero
    4. Repeat steps 1-3 for opposing hero and its allies, items and support abilities.

    When 2 or more cards in the same category are supposed to trigger at the same time, such as two friendly allies, they are triggered in the order in which they appear on the board (from the perspective of their hero) from left to right (which should match the order they were played). For example, if you played a weapon on turn 5 and then an armor card on turn 6, and they both had an ability that triggered when you dealt combat damage, the weapon's ability would trigger first. This is because they are both part of the items/support abilities category.

    Where a card has an attachment, that attachment has the opportunity to resolve immediately after the card it is attached to, before any further non-attachment cards are processed. (Multiple attachments on the same card are processed in the order they were attached.)
    Hope that clears it up and should answer your specific examples.

    For 2v2 games: the top-level order would be active player (steps 1-3), active player's partner (steps 1-3), opposing player to next have their turn (steps 1-3), other opposing player (steps 1-3).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •