Close

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member Fortana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    272
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Raika vs Layarian diplomat (not a bug)

    Fortana vs StL Twistuh

    I cast diplomat, removing passives from his ally.

    I then attacked.

    His damage was still reduced, and attack increased, by Raikas ability.

    Is Raikas ability not considered granting passives to the ally?

    Fortana

  2. #2
    Senior Member oggtheman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,815
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    No, I don't think it does. I'm probably completely wrong and someone who has actually read the rulebook is going to come along and correct me
    A member of ETC.
    Creator of boomerang combo deck.
    Likes playing lots of card games.

    I had a really awful signature in the past so i changed it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,235
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Layarian cancels ally abilities, Raikka's ability is not an ally ability.
    Raised in Exile. Trained in Kiptergarten. Mastering the ways of SE one step at a time.

    Long live the Queen...

  4. #4
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,077
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fortana View Post
    Is Raikas ability not considered granting passives to the ally?
    No. The effect is coming from her ability. If she gave out a keyword passive ability like haste or ambush then that would be considered to temporarily belong to them granted by her ability (and would be canceled by Layarian Diplomat), but she's doing all the increasing/decreasing herself.

    So not a bug. Thanks for posting though.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Kross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,087
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ganjamus View Post
    Layarian cancels ally abilities, Raikka's ability is not an ally ability.
    Not necessarily.. I've used Diplo on an ally to remove the stealth it received from Moonstalker

    edit: ninja'd by Gondorian
    Last edited by Kross; 10-09-2015 at 09:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ShrapnelFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Australia (GMT+11)
    Posts
    621
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gondorian View Post
    No. The effect is coming from her ability. If she gave out a keyword passive ability like haste or ambush then that would be considered to temporarily belong to them granted by her ability (and would be canceled by Layarian Diplomat), but she's doing all the increasing/decreasing herself.

    So not a bug. Thanks for posting though.
    Gondorian could you please clarify this ruling for me please:

    If Layarian Diplomat 'could' target heroes and targeted Raikka on summoning - would that therefore nullify her passive ability bestowed across all allies?

    If Layarian Diplomat 'could' target heroes and targeted Moonstalker on summoning - would that nullify the passive ability bestowed across all allies or just Moonstalker?

    Are all 'key words' identifiable by being bold? (To distinguish from other words that have 'shadow era' logic/meanings associated to them like 'gain' and 'have')

  7. #7
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,077
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ShrapnelFox View Post
    Gondorian could you please clarify this ruling for me please:

    If Layarian Diplomat 'could' target heroes and targeted Raikka on summoning - would that therefore nullify her passive ability bestowed across all allies?

    If Layarian Diplomat 'could' target heroes and targeted Moonstalker on summoning - would that nullify the passive ability bestowed across all allies or just Moonstalker?

    Are all 'key words' identifiable by being bold? (To distinguish from other words that have 'shadow era' logic/meanings associated to them like 'gain' and 'have')
    Raikka's ability is an activated one, so LD would be pointless on her, even if he could target her.

    If LD could target MS, then MS would not have stealth (it's a passive ability he gives himself via his activated ability) but the other allies still would.

    All passive ability keywords are in bold, yes. We have other words that we try to use consistently such as "have" and "gain" but they are not considered keywords.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •