Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    12
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Hellsteed Ability Text Does Not Work Exactly As Written [NOT A BUG]

    The text on Hellsteed reads:
    "The first other friendly ally to attack during your turn does +1 damage."

    However, let's say I have 3 allies (ally A, B, and C - assume all have 1 atk) and Hellsteed in my hand.
    I attack with Ally A, do 1 damage.
    I attack with Ally B, do 1 damage.
    I play Hellsteed from my hand.
    I attack with Ally C, do 2 damage.

    Ally C was the third ally I attacked with so why should he get a raise from Hellsteed's ability. The game play mechanic makes it so that it's the first ally that attacks since Hellsteed is summoned/brought into play, and not the first ally that actually attacks.

    Game proof:
    Meltdown game at approximately 4:30 pm United States Central Time Zone.
    advakharia95 vs AutumnRouge
    very last turn of mine

    I do not know what the appropriate fix for this should be but I thought I would mention it here.

  2. #2
    DP Visionary tman507's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    U.S.A, GMT -7
    Posts
    4,602
    Tournaments Joined
    6
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Ally abilities like this only work when the ally is in play, not when in the hand. I see how the wording is a bit confusing as it says "first to attack during your turn" and doesn't specify Hellsteed being in play, although I believe it might have at one point, only recently reworded to go along with the removal of the "while X is in play" text from all cards.
    "IT'S TIME TO DUEL!!!"
    "The Magnificent."
    Account for any future SC transfers by Gondorian: BP tman507

    Member of PFG3
    Master of Hand-to-hand Combat
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn

    Official Shadow Era Wiki Moderator

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    12
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Ohh, I wasn't aware of the rewording. Only picked up this game recently!

  4. #4
    DP Visionary tman507's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    U.S.A, GMT -7
    Posts
    4,602
    Tournaments Joined
    6
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advakharia95
    Ohh, I wasn't aware of the rewording. Only picked up this game recently!
    Yeah, a lot of the cards from Call of the Crystals (Set 1) originally had the wording "While X is in play" when the card had some sort of passive (always going when the card is in play) effect. This was made redundant and unnecessary when the Design Team decided that all cards with such abilities would basically have this ruling.

    An example with a little bit clearer wording is Wrath of the Forest. It now just says "When a friendly ally is killed, draw a card." Originally it would've have said something along the lines of "When a friendly ally is killed while Wrath of the Forest is in play, draw a card."

    Just became redundant when the ruling got cleared up for all cards. Either way, welcome to the game and forums.
    Last edited by tman507; 08-11-2015 at 06:20 AM.
    "IT'S TIME TO DUEL!!!"
    "The Magnificent."
    Account for any future SC transfers by Gondorian: BP tman507

    Member of PFG3
    Master of Hand-to-hand Combat
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn

    Official Shadow Era Wiki Moderator

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lightning Fury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Where assassins go
    Posts
    2,557
    Tournaments Joined
    3
    Tournaments Won
    0
    ^ Everything Tman said. Welcome to the game and forums
    “Let the wilds temper you, and if you weather it, in time the prodigal will return, a viper to his master’s bosom. Pawn takes king.”

    Lightning Fury
    The Mourning Tactician of Akallabęth
    Warrior of The Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn


    IGN|BP LightningFury
    WotBP Trophy Room|Achievements
    Guild Leader


    Articles

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •