Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    215
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Gold laced shield bug? (not a bug)

    So i was testig this card yesterday, it was working ok, until its last durability, when i used its ability to give +2 attack to an allies obviously the shield got destroyed but muy allie gained and then lost the +2 attack when gold-laced shield hitted the graveyard. I was playing ythan and i was pumping up a bobcat.

  2. #2
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,083
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi there. Ongoing effects need their source to be in play to be sustained. For this reason, using the last durability of some cards for their specified effect will achieve nothing directly. (You may wish to use the ability to have the card destroyed for some other reason - e.g. trigger Survalist; get out of Sorcerer of Endia range, etc).

  3. #3
    Senior Member Fortana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    274
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I personally think this is lame, the shield says to the end of turn. I get your logic , but....

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    215
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Thats really confusing since the card says that it gains +2 attack till end of turn, and it dosent say anything about losing it when destroyed, like KP's.
    Thanks for the answer.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    215
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fortana View Post
    I personally think this is lame, the shield says to the end of turn. I get your logic , but....
    I also agree with this....it is really lame that it should work that way.

  6. #6
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,083
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fortana View Post
    I personally think this is lame, the shield says to the end of turn. I get your logic , but....
    Before the wording for DP got finalised, there was a huge call for removing "... while X is in play" from the wordings. At the time, no one could make strong argument as to why it should stay on the cards so we took it off, instead opting for a global rule that cards will only have an effect while in play.

    I guess this is a situation where it would have been helpful to people to have it written on there, but, on the other hand, it is a good opportunity to learn the global rule for life.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    258
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Makes this card a lot less useful and doesn't make intuitive sense. If a card says you gain something until eot then that's how it should operate? No?

    Something to fix in the next update I guess - "nerf" for the shield or perhaps you should just rework it do it has 4 durability but only 1 defence so you can use it 3 times

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    215
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Most of the times i played the shield i could not make use of its ability because of its liw durability + the rule that dosent seem to make sense

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •