Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Lake of the Pines, California
    Posts
    44
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Yari Bladedancer

    I exhaust Yari Bladedancer to bestow his ability on another ally of mine, then I target my bladedancer with Road Less Traveled and the attack bonus he bestows upon my ally leaves play with the bladedancer. Im not sure if this is intentional or a bug. If it is not a bug then the wording needs to be changed from "until end of turn" to "when Yari Bladedancer leaves play".

  2. #2
    DP Visionary 4Ak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    868
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    imo not a bug, Bladedancer's ability reads "target other friendly ally has +X attack until the end of turn, where X is Yari Bladedancer's attack", but once you return him back to your hand he is not in play anymore, thus cannot have any attack "reachable" by the other ally still in play
    "This is who I am, nobody said you had to like it."

    TJ 4Ak
    Vermilion Bird
    The Holy Beast of...
    Team Juggernauts

  3. #3
    DP Visionary Index's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shanghai(GMT+8)
    Posts
    5,902
    Tournaments Joined
    9
    Tournaments Won
    0
    According to the rulebook, it's not a bug. Because bladedancer's buff is not a key word like poisoned or ablaze that is in bold font, it requires bladedancer in play.
    Buried Treasure of Nanana
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix/ Greatness, Reborn
    My tournament achievements

  4. #4
    Senior Member dranjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    599
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    When Yari Bladedancer is attached with a consuming fear, it appears to successfully transfer attack until the animation completes. However no attack is transferred at all. This is consistent with the card text so I would think that your case is not a bug either.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Heimdall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    270
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    It should not be that way. For me it seems far more logical with the current wording that you exhaust him and grant his attack to another ally. Done. As the value got added, why should there be any link with his presence as the effect has already been granted? If he leaves play, the ally should keep the added attack. If it isn't explicitly worded that he has to be on the field, then the way it works now is false. If it is intentional, they should change the wording.
    Heimdall, Guardian of Asgard
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn


    IGN: BP Heimdall

    Helpful links :: Deck builder :: IRC Channel

  6. #6
    DP Visionary Demnchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina, USA (GMT -4)
    Posts
    5,842
    Tournaments Joined
    8
    Tournaments Won
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Heimdall View Post
    It should not be that way. For me it seems far more logical with the current wording that you exhaust him and grant his attack to another ally. Done. As the value got added, why should there be any link with his presence as the effect has already been granted? If he leaves play, the ally should keep the added attack. If it isn't explicitly worded that he has to be on the field, then the way it works now is false. If it is intentional, they should change the wording.
    I agree, but the problem is a clause was added to the rule book that any all effects that are not permanent and/or are negative effects are only applicable IF the source remains in play (may not be exact wording of the rule). So this interaction is technically correct. The rule was created to lighten up on the wording "while in play" that you see on older cards.

    Personally, I'm still of the mind it was a terrible decision, but its the one we currently have to deal with.
    Was the Leader of Acolytes of A1

    A1's Dimensional Eyes in the Sky
    A1 Alliance: Evolution in Theory
    PFG3 Leader

    Was Shadow Era Community Manager

    Sota, The Switch Axe Monster Hunter

    "When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all."
    "Humans fight to secure peace as they envision it. The trouble is, everyone's vision is different." - Ringabel

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Lake of the Pines, California
    Posts
    44
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I understand now it is the rule that prevents him from working like he should so IMO the rule is bugged. I would think a rule as complex as this should have been handled with better care. This rule seems like an afterthought.
    Last edited by Prop215; 08-15-2014 at 08:02 PM.

  8. #8
    DP Visionary Preybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,044
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Not a big issue, as the ability ends on your turn anyway attack with the buffed ally THEN use RLT on Bladedancer. Just change your play order a bit and you cam have your cake and eat it too
    Extra Tough Claws - Proud Member of ETC

    Articles | Decklist | Fan Fiction

    Shadow Era Art Thread | PB @ DeviantArt

    PFG Member | I've been interviewed!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Lake of the Pines, California
    Posts
    44
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Preybird View Post
    Not a big issue, as the ability ends on your turn anyway attack with the buffed ally THEN use RLT on Bladedancer. Just change your play order a bit and you cam have your cake and eat it too
    LOl, yea this is excactly what I have done, thank you for your advice. I like cake, it just depends on who makes it. I swear I didnt eat a single twinkie until hostess came back..lol

  10. #10
    Senior Member Rivozzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,095
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Preybird View Post
    Not a big issue, as the ability ends on your turn anyway attack with the buffed ally THEN use RLT on Bladedancer. Just change your play order a bit and you cam have your cake and eat it too
    Maybe when you return YB by RLT you get Aldon or T.hierloom or any buff, Like KP, so your boosted ally gets double boost, one by YB and the other by the new draw cards, so this can't be done right now
    Master of Puppets
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn


    Check SE No 1 Guild

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •