Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    23
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Lightning Hunter & Transmogrification Curse

    On cards Lightning Hunter and Transmogrification Curse , they both state that "your hero loses 1 shadow energy".

    But Lightning Hunter can be played even when your hero has zero shadow energy, while Trans Curse need your hero to have at least 1 shadow energy for it to be casted.

    If the wordings are the same, i dont understand why the rules to cast them are different.

    Either change the wording on Trans Curse, add in "Your hero need at least 1 shadow energy to cast this" , or change the effect of playing Lightning Hunter or Trans Curse.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,235
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Trans Curse has the ":" part that tells you the second part of the card won't take effect unless your hero has lost at least 1 SE due to the card's effect. Lightning Hunter doesn't require you to lose 1 SE, it's just an after effect of it being summoned.
    Raised in Exile. Trained in Kiptergarten. Mastering the ways of SE one step at a time.

    Long live the Queen...

  3. #3
    Senior Member chamthabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    460
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Anything before " : " is a condition that must be met before the effect is resolve, same as Garth Concoction, Smock Screen, Lythian Shackles. In case of Lightning Hunter, that is just a card effect, not a requirement.

  4. #4
    Devoted Fan Gondorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    England (GMT+0)
    Posts
    24,049
    Tournaments Joined
    1000
    Tournaments Won
    999
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yes, Ganjamus is right. And, without the ":", our card text would be super-long. It's already in use in DP, for Smoke Screen. Compare that wording to Assassination - it would have been much easier to just say "Target friendly ally is exhausted: that ally kills target opposing ally."

  5. #5
    Senior Member Airact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3,315
    Tournaments Joined
    5
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I'm fairly sure the : is a cost, not a condition.


    The difference is that if it was a condition, you should still be able to cast it only for it to do nothing. If it's a cost, you cannot cast it unless you have that 1 SE to lose.

    Not 100% sure though.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    23
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Ah i see... didnt take note of the ":" part , so besides the cards mentioned, what other cards have this ":" cost? Its hard to use ctrl-F

    1) Transmogrification Curse
    2) Garth Concoction
    3) Smoke Screen
    4) Lythian Shackles

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •