Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

All (hopefully) about a Mage deck ?

Disclaimer I didn't play 1.23 so I don't hate mages. I went mage because I found it to be the best Hero when I started playing. And after reading about Eladwen. I concluded she was not the problem. It's just that Human Allies rock, Other Heroes sucked and Nishaven was against that but needed for portal. Anyhow that's another thread.

Disclaimer 2: I like building decks and strategies more than "being at the top" and looking for their weakness to then take that on.

The cards

Nishaven (because it's the best ability for a no Ally deck, discussion on this at the bottom)

Direct Damage
    4x firewall
    4x lighting strike
    2x supernova

Continued Damage
    3x poison
    3x Engulfing fire

Items/delays
    4x Rain delay
    3x Research
    3x bazaar
    2x voice of winter
    1x retreat (to have 30 cards)

Suggestions welcome. Specially in the numbers. I'm thinking of running 4 retread and cut down on poison/fire. Thoughts?

Why each card?
    Fireball and lighting strike are obvious. Sweet damage for few resources
    Why only 2x supernova because more will most likely kill you
    3x poison and engulfing, to put them early on and discard as resources the extras.
    rain delay to save yourself at the start of the game.
    voice of winter to do the same later on
    research and bazzar to drag resources and damage cards

Why not these?
    Freeze and Clinging webs are too weak, they target just one Ally
    Arcane Burst is too much spread damage, maybe only good against fast low health Ally decks.
    Special Delivery almost always ends up as resources as you always have something better to do with 4 resources.

As you can probably tell this can be played with Human or Shadow so why not other heroes?

In a no ally deck Eladwen is clearly inferior, if she could damage the Hero then maybe it will be a good choice.
    Gravebone makes no sense.