Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    DP Visionary FDL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4,188
    Tournaments Joined
    3
    Tournaments Won
    0

    FDL Tip #01: Empty Hands, Empty Threats

    It's getting late in a tight game. You've been trading blow for blow, countering each other's allies, weapons and draw engines. You have an Aeon in your hand and draw a Book of Curses. You sacrifice the Book to get to eight resources since you already have one in play and grace your empty board with Aeon Stormcaller. Right? Wrong!

    There is a world of difference between holding one (however useless) card and passing the turn empty handed.

    Being empty handed gives so much information to your opponent. Since you played 1 Tidal Wave already, he knows you have at best 15% odds of drawing another one in your remaining 20 cards (3/20, if you carried 4 and did not sac one early). Even if you have a Wizent's Staff out, it's still pretty easy to evaluate your odds of drawing a card (in this TW example, roughly 1-(5/6 * 5/6) = 1-25/36 = 11/36 = approx 33%). It's also easy to know the maximum amount of damage you can deal next turn or that you can't swarm the board. You're also highly unlikely to have item destruction.

    If you however happen to have one lonesome card still in your hand, it makes it much harder for your opponent to plan his turn. He can't know which card you top decked and has to assume that that one card you've been holding onto is key. He has to be much more careful which might buy you enough time to rebuild your hand or your board.

    Basic tip: Carefully consider the situation each time you might end up with an empty hand. It might be worth it, but you don't want to hand your opponent an advantage he doesn't deserve.

    Intermediate tip: Become familiar with your opponent's class card pool and the current metagame. Try to anticipate his best possible top deck.

    Advanced tip: Learn to quickly estimate probabilities to maximise your plays when your opponent is in topdeck mode.
    FDL TV!

    Channel | Thread | Twitter
    Deck Techs, Game Commentary, Replay Analysis and more!

    FDL Tips: The Metagame, Balance and You || Empty Hands
    LL Decklists: Serena || Elementalis

  2. #2
    Senior Member pyrogene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,161
    Tournaments Joined
    11
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Very good tip!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Natethegreat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1,131
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Math! It is everywhere!!!!
    The bitterest truth is always better than the sweetest lie.
    If you are reading this, congratulations, you survived the end of the world.

    In Game Name: PPUOD Pretty Pretty Unicorn Of Death

    Member of Shadow Era Network, Shadow Era Community Hub,Join Today!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Little Gnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Downtown
    Posts
    387
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Invaluable tip.
    I also don't like when someone is empty-handed --> draws --> sacrifices (for whatever reason) --> empty-handed again
    In my honest opinion its better (especially in late game) to keep your potential sacrificial tributes because they A. Represent a potential threat for your opponent while they are in your hand rather than the resource pile B. They may turn out usefull the very next turn C. You can always resource them when a card that puts in action your win condition(s) shows up

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zhou86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Malaysia (GMT+8)
    Posts
    6,304
    Tournaments Joined
    2
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Well said FDL.
    Psalm 91:7 A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.

    Zhou - Servant of the Eternal Saviour
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn.

    IGN | BP Zhou | Information on my Guild | Group | SE Players of Malaysia | Tournaments | BP Popup #37

    BP Hispanic | Link a la rama hispana de BP
    SE Achievements | Full List
    Articles/Guides | FAQs for New Players and Forum Goers

  6. #6
    Senior Member GS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Somewheres. I forgot.
    Posts
    4,454
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Blog Entries
    9
    I would keep the book even if I had one already in play at 7 resources. The only way I would sac one is to make room if I have a lot of cards.

    Anyone who immediately sacs something they just drew, with an empty hand, is just plan foolish. Yes, you get more resources.

    But really. At 6+ Res, do you NEED more if you're top decking?
    Signature for rent.

  7. #7
    Regionals Runner Up kentuequi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Around my belly button.
    Posts
    6,668
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GS View Post
    I would keep the book even if I had one already in play at 7 resources. The only way I would sac one is to make room if I have a lot of cards.

    Anyone who immediately sacs something they just drew, with an empty hand, is just plan foolish.
    except if you have a research or WS, ect..

    But really. At 6+ Res, do you NEED more if you're top decking?
    Yes if you expect to daw Research, WS, BS, ect..
    "Rastas don't believe in violence... Rastas don't believe... Rastas know." -Bob Marley-

    Winner of the Multi-Post Streak Challenge
    *⁷ᵔᵕᵔ∞*゜゚⁰ᵒ☉⋆.ᵢᵢᵢ₇.。・'⋋ⓚⓔⓝⓣⓤⓔⓠⓤⓘ⋌'・。.₇₇₇.⋆☉ᵒ⁰゜゚*∞ᵔᵕᵔ⁷*
    ⊰☠ ℑcℯ ℰℒℱ ☠⊱

  8. #8
    Official Organised Play Specialist NaharPT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,949
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Totally agree, FDL, nice piece of advise.

    I never empty my hand, unless i absolutely need to do it to make a crucial combo play to regain board, or to give me an edge that can be decisive. (for instance, like if i am at 7 resources, no board to both sides and having garg and MD in hand, lowering the just bought card to drop both of them in that turn...)
    Even in that example, it would depend a lot on the opponent i would be playing against, specially the fact that if he had or not mass wipes...

    Rule of thumb: almost NEVER get empty handed. Too fragile position. (even with a draw mech out - altough less, in that case).
    Ex-Official Organised Play Specialist (OOPS)

    Elder(Alumni) of Team Juggernauts - TJ
    Ancient Member of PFG

    IGN: NaharPT
    Live Server with Chat-room
    Test Server with Chat-room

  9. #9
    DP Visionary Preybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,046
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NaharPT View Post
    Rule of thumb: almost NEVER get empty handed. Too fragile position. (even with a draw mech out - altough less, in that case).
    I feel that only Warriors can really recover from an empty hand with any reliability, due to Blood Frenzy and the lack of Sever Ties out there (That being said, never recommended unless vital to game plan). Everyone else, a BIG no no.
    Extra Tough Claws - Proud Member of ETC

    Articles | Decklist | Fan Fiction

    Shadow Era Art Thread | PB @ DeviantArt

    PFG Member | I've been interviewed!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    29
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Preybird View Post
    I feel that only Warriors can really recover from an empty hand with any reliability, due to Blood Frenzy and the lack of Sever Ties out there (That being said, never recommended unless vital to game plan). Everyone else, a BIG no no.
    I'll often hold my sever ties for a warrior who plays out there hand. The tempo destruction is unreal -- amber especially needs cards!
    balloons - Wind Excursionist and Soiree Inflatables Engineer
    Warrior of the Blue Phoenix
    Greatness, Reborn

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •