Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    huge exploit with earthen protector [it is a bug]

    Earthen Protector when used with a protector as an ability. Earthen Protector says "when a friendy ally is killed while earthen protector is alive and can be damaged, that ally is returned to play with +2 base attack and +2 health, and Earthen Protector is killed." The only problem with this is that Earthen Protector can not ever be damaged with a card with the protector attribute on it since Earthen Protector doesn't have the protector ability. Any card you kill with protector comes back incredibly strong for this reason regardless of what you do. The only way to not have this happen is to not attack any allies the rest of the game. I've seen a number of players using this exploit and a few admitted to knowing it. Most recently was 78Deathstrike. Please fix this so bad players like this guy can't have ratings of 237 unless they learn to play within the constructs of the game and. Knowingly using such a strong glitch ruins the game for others.
    Last edited by juice prime; 05-08-2012 at 06:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Regionals Runner Up kentuequi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Around my belly button.
    Posts
    6,668
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Earthen Protector can be damaged by Super Nova, Evil Ascendant, Ice Storm, Tidal Wave, so it's not a glitch, And it's not easy to make Aeon/Earthen combo works, you can still retreat Aeon and kill EP, or kill Aeon and Assassinate him after he come back in the same turn, or...
    "Rastas don't believe in violence... Rastas don't believe... Rastas know." -Bob Marley-

    Winner of the Multi-Post Streak Challenge
    *⁷ᵔᵕᵔ∞*゜゚⁰ᵒ☉⋆.ᵢᵢᵢ₇.。・'⋋ⓚⓔⓝⓣⓤⓔⓠⓤⓘ⋌'・。.₇₇₇.⋆☉ᵒ⁰゜゚*∞ᵔᵕᵔ⁷*
    ⊰☠ ℑcℯ ℰℒℱ ☠⊱

  3. #3
    DP Visionary Preybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,046
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by juice prime View Post
    Earthen Protector when used with a protector as an ability. Earthen Protector says "when a friendy ally is killed while earthen protector is alive and can be damaged, that ally is returned to play with +2 base attack and +2 health, and Earthen Protector is killed." The only problem with this is that Earthen Protector can not ever be damaged with a card with the protector attribute on it since Earthen Protector doesn't have the protector ability. Any card you kill with protector comes back incredibly strong for this reason regardless of what you do. The only way to not have this happen is to not attack any allies the rest of the game. I've seen a number of players using this exploit and a few admitted to knowing it. Most recently was 78Deathstrike. Please fix this so bad players like this guy can't have ratings of 237 unless they learn to play within the constructs of the game and. Knowingly using such a strong glitch ruins the game for others.
    Sorry man it's not an exploit or a bug or anything. It's a valid strategy, dropping an Earthen Protector behind a Protector (most commonly Aeon).

    EDIT: Ninja'd by Kent and his superior explanation!
    Last edited by Preybird; 05-08-2012 at 04:21 AM.
    Extra Tough Claws - Proud Member of ETC

    Articles | Decklist | Fan Fiction

    Shadow Era Art Thread | PB @ DeviantArt

    PFG Member | I've been interviewed!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Not exactly man. It says damage. So if you have no means to damage him, than the effect should not take place. If a protector is blocking him for being able to be dealt damage, than he CANNOT take damage. Earthern Protector is not selectable with instant kill moves or damaging spells like fireball or a heroes direct damage, only the protector is. This is all well and good, but it prevents the Earthen Protector for being able to take damage. The card says if Earthen Protector CAN take damage, if a protector doesn't allow it, than it CANNOT. This is simple. It doesn't say whipe out all enemies (tidal wave). It says IF it CAN be damaged. So yes, it's a bug...don't use evil ascendant as a viable solution either. 1 damage every turn to kill a 6 health ally? i'm sure no other allies will die before that one... It isn't a viable strategy, just read the card carefully.

  5. #5
    DP Visionary Preybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,046
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Cards like supernova and tidal wave will still kill it as they do not target anything, they have a blanket effect that takes out the board. Believe me, Kent knows what he's talking about.
    Extra Tough Claws - Proud Member of ETC

    Articles | Decklist | Fan Fiction

    Shadow Era Art Thread | PB @ DeviantArt

    PFG Member | I've been interviewed!

  6. #6
    Senior Member Dai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    224
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    it can be damaged man, but not from conventional ways, the protector ability only states that ally without protector can't be targeted, if you find a way to deal damage or to kill without targetting you can kill an earthen protector traspassing the protector attribute

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    116
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    It's being used exactly as intended as far as I can tell. It's something you need to have a plan for In order to deal with it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Reshiram99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    The Void
    Posts
    1,807
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sounds like someone who doesn't know the meaning of ally removal... If your opponent managed to get an 11 resource combo on the board without you doing ANYTHING, he almost freaking deserves to win.
    Fire Snakes are high in Vitamin D.

    Account for Gondorian to put crystalz into: Reshiram99

  9. #9
    Senior Member SpeakerOfTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    249
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I think the main point brought up by the OP has been addressed. However something just caught my eye.

    Earthen Protector's rules text says "when a friendy ally is killed while earthen protector is alive and can be damaged, that ally is returned to play with +2 base attack and +2 health, and Earthen Protector is killed."

    Why does the text include the part about "can be damaged"? Maybe its a way for the programming to implement the ability. Upon the death of another ally the programme deals enough dmg to the EP to kill it in order to bring up the "sacrifice of the EP" effect. In any case it seems like an irrelevant line of text at the moment.
    Spin Doctor of A1: Evolution in Theory

    Thinking of joining a guild? Why not try out for the Acolytes of A1: Students today, Masters tomorrow

  10. #10
    DP Visionary Preybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,046
    Tournaments Joined
    1
    Tournaments Won
    0
    If it can't be damaged it cant die. An interesting test would be to drop holy shield on Earthen then kill an ally, see if it still works as normal.
    Extra Tough Claws - Proud Member of ETC

    Articles | Decklist | Fan Fiction

    Shadow Era Art Thread | PB @ DeviantArt

    PFG Member | I've been interviewed!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •