Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

Moonstalker vs. Mages - Tips Needed

Im fairly new to the game but have enjoyed using Moonstalker as my go-to general. I can handle most enemy classes, but I struggle against mages (Eladwen, Nishaven, etc.). I just can't keep any of my allies up long enough to inflict decent damage. Any Moonstalker players have some tips. Conversely, are there any mages who want to share what has worked against them when facing Wulven opponents? Thanks in advance!

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    It comes with the nature of MS's ability that it doesn't provide protection against spell damage / mass removal and therefore it is much less reliable vs mages than vs other opponents.

Mages normally still rely on creatures as well, so it's not always a lost cause. In my games vs mages it normally comes down to the draw luck of the mage, how much Supernova he draws and me trying to provoke the mage into playing her hero ability on expandable creatures and coming out with a Plasma Behemoth or another hardhitter in the turn afterwards, combined with MS's ability, to hopefully keep it alive and deal some damage.

Jeweler's Dream is also very helpful in getting a speed advantage and getting more creatures out fast.

If you are able to get out an Ogloth, he will buff himself with every dead creature, so he is a good choice as well to have. (Though the mage would be silly not to target him down preferably with some direct damage.)

Somehow I won most of my recent games vs mages as they ran out of steam at some point and I just kept playing creatures as they got obliterated. One Supernova can turn the tide anytime though, so in general it's always a tough matchup.
    Conceptual stuff
    The Rule of Six - Building and reviewing a deck.

Behold my Wulven decks
    Wrath of the Wulven - Making the most of your Moonstalker!

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    Stuff that helps: