Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    DP Visionary
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

"Preconstructed Deck" Confusion - Playability? Wasted crystals?

I just wanted to ask some quick questions for clarification regarding the preconstructed decks and actually playing with them.

I just started playing and was intrigued enough to go ahead and preorder the Collectors Edition of the physical cards, as I have often had the same "like to play but want a full set" mentality with previous card games. After doing so, that loaded me up with 15,000 crystals to use with the merchant.

When playing card games on the go (physically), I tend to usually grab preconstructed decks because it's a bit more balanced and easier to get new people into playing. I may even do that with the physical cards later, BUT . . .

Am I correct in understanding that even if one were to purchase any (or all) of the preconstructed digital decks through the merchant that the decks aren't actually playable in that form?

My situation: Thinking the same way I do with physical cards, I've used 1,000 crystals from that 15,000 to buy each of the preconstructed decks, not realizing that they apparently cannot actually be played like preconstructed decks the way a physical game would work. My initial Hero was a Human Rogue.

So, let's say that I decide I actually want to play with that preconstructed Shadow Elemental deck. I know (now) that you can't just jump into using that deck by just picking the deck from a list. Instead, I have to wipe out my previous Human Rogue deck and choose a Shadow Elemental Hero. This is where I get confused on the following issue(s):

To swap between Heroes and relevant affiliations, you use the online form, and you keep your XP and crystals while losing your gold and cards. I get that stipulation, but I *don't* get how that affects previous purchases.